To educate and to preserve the history of the pioneers of our Country and the part that the people of Irish descent have contributed to the development of the United States, Canada and Ireland.

To sponsor and preserve cultural, charitable and social service programs. To sponsor and assist in the education of persons without concern for their national origin by providing financial and other assistance based upon merit ~ From the Constitution of the Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick


The Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick grew out of the Robert Emmet Club. The latter club was formed in 1941 and founded in the name of the Irish patriot who was hanged for treason in 1803. Emmet was the leader of an ill-fated rising against British rule in Ireland. The Robert Emmet Club was established primarily as a social gathering place to bring together men who shared pride in a common heritage.

In 1955 the name of the club was changed by consensus to its present form, the Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick of New Bedford, with an incorporated constitution and bylaws. The Friendly Sons held their first function in March 1956; a dinner dance in honor of the feast of Saint Patrick. Today, while the Saint Patrick’s Day dinner dance remains a centerpiece of the annual social calendar of the association, the club hosts many functions and charitable events throughout the year.

Members gather monthly, except during the summer months, to conduct the business of the club in accordance with its stated objectives. The club does not maintain its own dedicated premises for these meetings at this time.

Past Presidents

1941-42   Atty. Joseph C. Duggan *
1942-43   Atty. Joseph C. Duggan
1943-44   Daniel J. Sullivan
1944-45   Thomas A. Murphy
1945-46   Joseph Walsh
1946-47   Patrick J. Muldoon
1947-48   Joseph Walsh
1948-49   Patrick J. Moore
1949-50   Harold E. Hunt
1950-51   Harold E. Hunt
1951-52   Patrick J. Moore
1952-53   Patrick J. Moore
1953-54   Patrick J. Moore
1954-55   Joseph T. McCawley
1955-56   Joseph T. McCawley **
1956-57   Patrick J. Moore
1957-58   Harold E. Hunt
1958-59   Oliver Fitzgerald
1959-60   Oliver Fitzgerald
1960-61   Edward L. Manley, Jr.
1961-62   Edward L. Manley, Jr.
1962-63   Thomas Quinn
1963-64   Thomas Quinn
1964-65   Thomas Quinn
1965-66   Thomas Quinn
1966-67   Atty. Joseph C. Duggan
1967-68   Atty. Joseph C. Duggan
1968-69   James Henry
1969-70   Patrick E. Coyne
1970-71   Robert E. O’Grady
1971-72   Robert E. O’Grady
1972-73   Robert E. O’Grady
1973-74   Robert E. O’Grady
1974-75   Albert Porter
1975-76   Oliver Fitzgerald ***
1976-77   Francis E. Harrington
1977-78   Francis E. Harrington
1978-79   J. Mark Treadup
1979-80   Paul P. Swain
1980-81   Paul P. Swain
1981-82   John E. Macedo
1982-83   Ronald J. Walsh
1983-84   Frederick J. Toomey
1984-85   Frederick J. Toomey
1985-86   William O’Brien
1986-87   William O’Brien
1987-88   Thomas P. Walsh
1988-89   Thomas P. Walsh
1989-90   Clement E. Daley
1990-91   Clement E. Daley
1991-92   Richard T. Molleo
1992-93   Richard T. Molleo
1993-94   James E. Sullivan, Jr.
1994-95   James E. Sullivan, Jr.
1995-96   Richard T. Molleo
1996-97   Richard T. Molleo
1997-98   James F. Costa
1998-99   Mark P. Sullivan
1999-00   Mark P. Sullivan
2000-01   David A. Duggan
2001-02   David A. Duggan
2002-03   Michael G. Sullivan
2003-04   Michael G. Sullivan
2004-05   Steven A. Beauregard
2005-06   Steven A. Beauregard
2006-07   Sean Toomey
2007-08   Sean Toomey
2008-09   Christopher Donnelly
2009-10   Christopher Donnelly
2010-11   Christopher Donnelly
2011-12   Paul T. Meagher
2012-13   Paul T. Meagher
2013-14   Timothy W. Murray
2014-15   Timothy W. Murray
2015-16   Brian J. Kirby
2016-17   Brian J. Kirby
2017-18   Timothy W. Murray
2018-19   Timothy W. Murray
2019-20   Murray Curhan
2020-21   Murray Curhan

*     Robert Emmet Club founded
**    Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick founded
***   Friendly Sons of Saint Patrick incorporated